Bees Returning to Nuc Boxes

Default Bees Returning to Nuc Boxes

Greetings - first time posting on the forum. Yesterday, bees from our two hives somehow found the old nuc boxes (containing some old frames), kept about 30 metres away in a shed. There has been no activity around those boxes up to this point. Now a good number of bees are buzzing around those boxes. We are wondering how to proceed. We’ve brought the nuc boxes with bees in them out for night to rest beside the hives in hopes of them reintegrating into the main hives. Any advice is appreciated, thanks in advance.
    Gordon

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Bees Returning to Nuc Boxes

Did you look to see if by chance a swarm moved in.A good number of bees coming in and staying for the night sounds like a swarm moved in.

Thanks for the reply. I’m still quite new to beekeeping and am not aware of how to evaluate whether it is a swarm or an offshoot of one of the hives. In the case of it being a swarm, will placing the newly occupied nuc boxes near to the hives be a problem?

Leave them alone a few days and if they are still there it would be a swarm.Then just close them up at dark when everyone is inside and move to your preferred location.Being warm weather if any are hanging outside just give a little puff of smoke and they all will go inside for you. After you move them remove whatever you closed them off with and just throw a few lose leaves,grass,a limb with pine needles or what ever at the entrance to make them reorient the next morning.And feed them some syrup and let them go to work.Oh and if you dont have frames in those boxes get some in there quick or you will have comb every where you dont want it.

Could be a late swarm - either one which has already taken place, or scouts checking-out a potential new home for one which is about to occur.