swarm caught 7-20-19

Default swarm caught 7-20-19

Just looked at the bees that I put in a 5 frame hive on july 17. I have been feeding 1/1 sugar water about 1 quart per day. There are 3 frames about 3/4ths covered with comb and about half of that filled with sugar honey. There was what looked like only a couple dozen capped brood cells and the rest looked empty to me. I thought I saw the queen but it was kind of thin could it be a drone? Should there be more eggs or larva ? this is my first time trying to keep bees. Also I have a deep box on top. (Two 5 frame deeps). nothing going on in the upper box should I take it off. ANY ADVISE WOULD BE APPRICIATED THANK YOU.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: swarm caught 7-20-19

it's possible that the small swarm you caught 3 weeks ago came from a colony that was superseding a failing queen. this is common for small swarms that issue late in the season.

if all you have is a few capped worker cells a failing queen may have been able to lay those few before she crapped out. such a colony will usually attempt to make a new queen, and if they did that queen would have emerged about a week ago.

if there is a new queen and if she gets mated you might be seeing new eggs in another week or so.

if the brood cappings are raised up then you have drone eggs laid in worker cells. these could be laid by a failed queen or laying workers.
    journaling the growth of a (mite) treatment free apiary started in 2010. 20+/- hives

just looked at the hive. All the bees are gone and there are beetles there. I did not see any beetles yesterday.