Distance between hives

Hybrid View

Default Distance between hives

Hey everyone,

So I'm relatively new to this field and I've just been researching beekeeping for now. I've noticed on several threads that there's a lot of discretion advised when placing beehives (such as 4 hives to a pallet or separating them by a couple feet). If I were just keeping a few hives recreationally (not commercially), what would you recommend? I'm confused on the varied answers. Thanks.

Default Re: Distance between hives

Ideally, hives are spaced at fairly wide intervals to help avoid drifting and disease transmission. Unfortunantly, for the vast majority of us, that is simply not practical. Space your hives as you see fit to work into your landscape. One thing most of us do is leave enough room behind the hive to work it from the rear. I place my hives on a stand made of 4x4x8's and get 5 10-frame hives per stand. They are almost touching each other. The stands are about 5 feet apart so I can get the mower through and are arranged in a square with the entrances facing inwards. Everyone has their own way and they all seem to work.
    Thankfully, the bees are smarter than I am. They are doing well, in spite of my efforts to help them.