Bee Hive Equip Evaluation Question

Default Bee Hive Equip Evaluation Question

Hello, and thanks for looking over my question.

I am brand new to all this, but very interested. However, I also know myself, and there is a chance this new interest will fade. So until I know for sure how much I want to get and remain involved, I'd like to keep things budget friendly.

With that said, I was hoping perhaps somebody might look over this "10-Frame Hive Frame/Bee Hive Frame/Beehive Frames" set up from Walmart, and let me know if this will be sufficient to begin with. I'm sure the quality might not be great, but I'm hoping it will work as a basic starter. And I do live in Southern California, if that matter as far as the temps. / weather.

Thanks in advance,
    b1rd

PS- And I would paint it white on the outside.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Bee Hive Equip Evaluation Question

Looks like a good setup. Everything you need hivewise to get you through the first season. Buy two. You will of course need other stuff, smoker, jacket or suit and veil, hive tool, etc., but that looks like a great value.
    Thankfully, the bees are smarter than I am. They are doing well, in spite of my efforts to help them.

Thank you very much for the quick reply. And yes, I did buy the other stuff as well, which I hope to test soon.

One of my nuc customers got this setup. The plastic foundation needs wax added but other than that the value is ok.

Thanks. I do have a follow-up question, but I want to read over a couple of things first before I post it so it's makes sense.

Apologies for the delay, but I wanted to follow up on the plastic frames.