BetterComb Experience, Anyone?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default BetterComb Experience, Anyone?

https://www.betterbee.com/frames/adf...deep-frame.asp

I have had good experiences with Better Bee as a vendor. I have some colonies which have been slow to build up or draw comb. This is my first year, and I'd just like to get them to survive winter. So, when I saw this email from Betterbee, the product they're now offering of synthetic fully drawn frames of comb, sure did appeal to me...However, when I asked them what the "plant & mineral sources" their site vaguely states the synthetic wax is made of, and if said plant sources are organic to guarantee a pesticide free product, I was not answered with specifics. This is the response I got:

"Hi Wendy,
    I'm not able to share the exact ingredients, but I can tell you the material groups used in the production of the wax. The wax blend includes the following material groups: fatty acids, fatty alcohols, fatty acid monesters, diesters, and triesters, and hydrocarbons. I will inquire about whether the plant based ingredients were derived from organic or conventional plants.

Best Regards,"

I don't really know what any of that means, other than they don't want their formulation emulated, hence the vagueness. Can anyone with a better head for chemical compositions tell me if testing this product may be a good idea for me? Or, has anyone on here tried this product yet???
    Last edited by BumblingBeek; 07-03-2019 at 04:37 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: BetterComb Experience, Anyone?

I saw that comb as well. Not sure how well it works but it's very expensive. I think of BetterBee as a very reputable company.

For your weaker colonies that aren't building up comb, I would try to determine if they need more comb than they already have. If they really need more, I'd focus on why they haven't drawn sufficient comb instead of trying to augment them with already drawn comb.