New Bee Keeper, New Colony, New Equipment - What Could Go Wrong?!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default New Bee Keeper, New Colony, New Equipment - What Could Go Wrong?!

Hi! I'm brand new to this - so I'm very glad to find a forum of experts!

The title is a bit tongue in cheek as I am actually trying to figure out what could go wrong - just to be(e) ahead of the game... Yesterday I transferred a wild colony from a cooler to a Langstroth Hive. Here is a picture of what the hive looked like in the cooler. Apparently it has been there for less than a week, which seemed to line up with the age of the larva I found. Nonetheless, that seems like a lot of comb for one week:
    DSC_0604.jpg

I cut off the comb and stood them up in individual frames, like in the picture below. In some cases I doubled up the comb pieces into a single frame.
    DSC_0616.jpg

I didn't find the queen, but the center of the comb shown in the picture above is filled with larva (uncapped), which would be evidence of her presence. There were also sections of pollen and uncapped honey/nectar:
    DSC_0607.jpg

The whole colony was surprisingly calm and I didn't feel like they wanted to attack me (then again, I have no reference). I watched the few bees that did land on me and they weren't trying to sting me. I've not got them set up on the roof on my house on a stand, water next to them, and feel like I should be doing more for them....
    DSC_0617.jpg

So, do I just leave them for two weeks before I check? Or is there something else I should be doing to prevent something from "going wrong"?

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: New Bee Keeper, New Colony, New Equipment - What Could Go Wrong?!

If I'm reading you right, then this is your first contact with bees ? If so, then I think you've done exceptionally well thus far.