Why do Queen Bee prices not fluctuate based on seasonal demand?

Sold Out Why do Queen Bee prices not fluctuate based on seasonal demand?

I've been buying queens for years, and when I buy them they, depending on the quantity and company, range from 15-35 per queen. Why don't bee queen providers vary their prices depending on the time of the season, demand, and supply?

Also, Any recommendations on who I should ask this question to or how to learn more?

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Why do Queen Bee prices not fluctuate based on seasonal demand?

As a queen producer, I usually have no queens or a lot of queens... no point in raising the price when I have no queens...
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 42y 40h 39yTF

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Bush View Post
    As a queen producer, I usually have no queens or a lot of queens... no point in raising the price when I have no queens...

Thank you for responding, Michael.

What you say makes sense. I wonder if it would be better to fluctuate the price with a software that monitors seasonal changes, and changes in supply and demand. If none are for sale, then nothing needs change of course, but when there are queens to sell, then it's best if the price changes to accurately reflect market forces. Or at least that is my thinking.

I don't produce queens commercially, so I wonder if making more money that can be reinvested into producing more high quality queens (or nucs, etc) for people makes sense or not.

One price is working well, why complicate it? If it ain't broke don't fix it!
    Frank

Quote Originally Posted by crofter View Post
    One price is working well, why complicate it? If it ain't broke don't fix it!

I hear you, and thank you for writing/responding.