what size filter do you use to strain your honey? - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 39 of 39
  1. #21
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Algoma District Northern Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,735

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    I looked up grit guard; it doesnt lend itself to my method.
    Frank

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    646

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Ryan, that's what Frank are talking about. The difference is using it as a large strainer into another bucket or as a removable liner to get the stuff out. Removing the liner allows more surface area for honey flow plus you can do that after the extracting is done, if you have enough bags.

  4. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bunker Hill, IL
    Posts
    891

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    I also have the 200 400 600 kit and prefer the 400 filter. 200 leaves more trash behind than I like and 600 takes FOREVER To drain

  5. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Northern Colorado, USA
    Posts
    542

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by whix View Post
    Or, you could put a "grit guard wash bucket insert" (google it) in the bottom of your bucket and leave the gate open.
    I am not sure I would want to use a plastic "grit guard wash bucket insert" for honey since all of the ones I found were not food rated. I would be inclined to use a steam tray or cooling rack. The cheap ones would probably get crushed, but these might work.

    https://www.amazon.com/Chris-Wang-Mu...-garden&sr=1-4

    https://www.amazon.com/Update-Intern...y&sr=8-48&th=1

  6. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Guam (USA)
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    I'm not a fan of using non-food grade plastics/equipment in processing/storing our honey. Seeing honey gates installed on orange HomeDepot buckets, for instance, makes me cringe ....

  7. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ka'u Hawaii
    Posts
    271

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by IslandLife View Post
    I'm not a fan of using non-food grade plastics/equipment in processing/storing our honey. Seeing honey gates installed on orange HomeDepot buckets, for instance, makes me cringe ....
    I always used #2 buckets as they were said to be acceptable; however, recently the producers have come up with this 'food grade' label. Those have the 2 in the triangle also. Perhaps someone can enlighten me as to the difference. I do like them to be white.

    Straining honey? Mine, unless it is heated, sits on the top of the various micron filters and will not strain. Rather than heat and strain, I have a SS settling tank where I leave the honey for at least 3 days. Then it drains very clean from the bottom outlet. The last 10% or less, loaded with wax,etc. is sieved through a common kitchen strainer and becomes house honey or give away honey for my friends.

    Raw honey, rather than Pure Honey, is where its at, IMO. Dont' tell Walter Kelley!

  8. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Guam (USA)
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gino45 View Post
    I always used #2 buckets as they were said to be acceptable; however, recently the producers have come up with this 'food grade' label. Those have the 2 in the triangle also. Perhaps someone can enlighten me as to the difference. I do like them to be white.
    As I understand it most HDPE plastics CAN be food grade, but a No. 2 HDPE HD bucket may be manufactured with some "blow molding release agent" (just making that term up), which could leave remnants on the final product making it unsuitable for food contact use, etc.

  9. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Olathe KS USA
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by crofter View Post
    Mesh designations vs the metric particle size designation makes for confusion.
    FWIW - This chart might help with the confusion between mesh and microns.
    Screen mesh is the number of holes (or wires) per inch. Higher numbers are finer.
    Microns is a measure of particle diameter. Higher numbers are larger.

    https://www.netafimusa.com/wp-conten...-vs-Micron.pdf

  10. #29
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Algoma District Northern Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,735

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by sonnyk View Post
    FWIW - This chart might help with the confusion between mesh and microns.
    Screen mesh is the number of holes (or wires) per inch. Higher numbers are finer.
    Microns is a measure of particle diameter. Higher numbers are larger.

    https://www.netafimusa.com/wp-conten...-vs-Micron.pdf
    Correct! I have seen tray filter sets mislabled. They say micron but have the 600 label on the finest screen and the 200 label on the coarsest! Can we give them any marks for having the 400 label on the medium one?
    Frank

  11. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Almond, NY, USA
    Posts
    136

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Food Grade #2 HDPE is made from all virgin material, so the plastic making the buckets is "clean" (its first use from raw materials). Extra points are given if also labeled "BPA Free".

    If it is not labeled food grade, it is made with recycled material...these are usually the colored buckets you see at the Home Centers, hardware stores, etc.

    #2 HDPE is non-reactive & safe with food, as a basic material...but recycled #2 HDPE could have some chemical residues in it from its previous uses and coloring agents.
    Zone 5A 2,200 ft.

  12. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Pell City,Alabama,USA
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Shear nylon from a fabric shop, can buy it 6' foot wide and cut it to fit.....

  13. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cedar City, Utah
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by SallyD View Post
    What size screen do you recommend to filter my honey?
    I strain the honey through a strainer like this (http://www.amazon.com/Adjustable-Col.../dp/B0798TX144).

    The strainer sits atop a 5-gallon bucked with a honey gate. After straining, I let the honey sit overnight. Debris that was too small to be strained out the day before floats to the top. The honey that flows out the gate is clean. The honey at the top with tiny debris is great for cooking.
    A cold bee smoker is bad for the soul.

  14. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Albany, ga
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by IslandLife View Post
    I'm not a fan of using non-food grade plastics/equipment in processing/storing our honey. Seeing honey gates installed on orange HomeDepot buckets, for instance, makes me cringe ....
    Paint strainer bags are not food grade. Is that an issue?

  15. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Menomonee Falls, Wis.
    Posts
    4,119

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Or do not strain at all. Fill the tank, wait 3 days. But it sure is a PITA to fill an 8 Oz. jar from a 3" valve.

    Crazy Roland

  16. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Derry, New Hampshire
    Posts
    2,295

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by SallyD View Post
    Thank you groundhwg for your reply. I actually bought the double strainer honey sieve (that fits over the bucket) and the upper mesh is 1875 micron and the bottom is 650 micron - I guess i should put it through the 400 after these 2? Is anyone else using this double sieve and then filtering it again. I just don't want the honey to be cloudy. This is the item I have.

    https://www.amazon.com/VIVO-Stainles...85751621&psc=1
    Sally......I actually just got that as well. Run it through the 1875 and let it sit for a few days. then take a piece of plastic wrap and lay it on top of the honey. peel it off and trash it. all the gunk will float to the top and get stripped away with the plastic wrap. you can spoon it off too. as the top gets down to the honey gate i'd try and run it through the finer one. it will take a long time and you still might have some floating gunk to remove. Once you get a lot of honey you'll never let the level below the gate so the gunk always floats.
    Last edited by kaizen; 06-11-2019 at 06:11 AM.
    Terrence

  17. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    646

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Someone is confused. 1875 micron is much larger gaps than the 650 micron. Run it thru both, let the bucket sit, then pull off the bottom if you can. The top strainer will get the bigger stuff allowing the 650 to flow better and longer. Use the 400 if you want to; you may like the appearance. My customers seem to like it well strained so I generally get down to 200.

  18. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Derry, New Hampshire
    Posts
    2,295

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by texanbelchers View Post
    Someone is confused. 1875 micron is much larger gaps than the 650 micron. Run it thru both, let the bucket sit, then pull off the bottom if you can. The top strainer will get the bigger stuff allowing the 650 to flow better and longer. Use the 400 if you want to; you may like the appearance. My customers seem to like it well strained so I generally get down to 200.
    Thanks Tex. I had it reversed. I corrected it.
    Terrence

  19. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Upperco, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    I have the three set plastic mesh that fits on top of the 5 gal bucket. I used to do all 3 but I grew tired waiting for the finest to get done--sometimes it'd be all night getting through that last filter and then the honey is sucking up moisture all that time. So this year we went with the 600 and 400 only. The honey is not as clear, but most people like the idea of getting more pollen in the honey. We'll see

  20. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Upperco, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by kaizen View Post
    Sally......I actually just got that as well. Run it through the 1875 and let it sit for a few days. then take a piece of plastic wrap and lay it on top of the honey. peel it off and trash it. all the gunk will float to the top and get stripped away with the plastic wrap. you can spoon it off too. as the top gets down to the honey gate i'd try and run it through the finer one. it will take a long time and you still might have some floating gunk to remove. Once you get a lot of honey you'll never let the level below the gate so the gunk always floats.
    I started this year stopping after the 400. Its not as clear but the idea of more local pollen seems to be the craze. I would not do less than the 400.

    The 600 gets bug bodies and debris out and the 400 takes care of anything else nasty. i like the idea of starting with that huge 1875 that'll keep all the wax bits from clogging the finer mesh. Might try that idea myself

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •