what size filter do you use to strain your honey?
Results 1 to 20 of 39

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    411

    Default what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Greeetings! What size screen do you recommend to filter my honey? 200? 400? Any advice you can give me to avoid cloudy honey would be great!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Ozark, AL
    Posts
    818

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Have use 200, 400, and 600 which are often called fine, medium, and coarse. For me I have found that the 400 (medium) works best.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    411

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Thank you groundhwg for your reply. I actually bought the double strainer honey sieve (that fits over the bucket) and the upper mesh is 1875 micron and the bottom is 650 micron - I guess i should put it through the 400 after these 2? Is anyone else using this double sieve and then filtering it again. I just don't want the honey to be cloudy. This is the item I have.

    https://www.amazon.com/VIVO-Stainles...85751621&psc=1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Byron, Il, USA
    Posts
    365

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    I pour it through a (clean) sock.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Algoma District Northern Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,805

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Here is the slickest way to filter honey. Mannlakeltd.com 5 Gallon Pail Filter - Extra Fine
    Product Code: HH-380

    Push the bag down into the 5 gallon pail, roll the rim of the bag out and over the outside of the pail. Extract honey and wax into the bag and then slowly pull up or suspend the bag with bungy cord. You end up with a bag with the wax inside and a pail of filtered honey.

    I have nightmares about trying to filter using the trays again.
    Frank

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    646

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by crofter View Post
    Here is the slickest way to filter honey. Mannlakeltd.com 5 Gallon Pail Filter - Extra Fine
    Product Code: HH-380

    Push the bag down into the 5 gallon pail, roll the rim of the bag out and over the outside of the pail. Extract honey and wax into the bag and then slowly pull up or suspend the bag with bungy cord. You end up with a bag with the wax inside and a pail of filtered honey.

    I have nightmares about trying to filter using the trays again.
    +10!!! I use similar and it makes a world of difference. Just be careful suspending the bag; it will make a mess when you miss the bucket. I wish they would post the actual mesh size instead of "extra fine".

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Skaneateles, NY
    Posts
    941

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by crofter View Post
    Here is the slickest way to filter honey. Mannlakeltd.com 5 Gallon Pail Filter - Extra Fine
    Product Code: HH-380

    Push the bag down into the 5 gallon pail, roll the rim of the bag out and over the outside of the pail. Extract honey and wax into the bag and then slowly pull up or suspend the bag with bungy cord. You end up with a bag with the wax inside and a pail of filtered honey.

    I have nightmares about trying to filter using the trays again.
    I Bought a clarifying tank and an inline filter this year ( all used and cheap thankfully from an estate sale). Filtering the honey through the double sieve is a PITA because they clog. Same with the sit on the top bucket filters. This bag idea of yours would probably be easier though!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Ozark, AL
    Posts
    818

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by AR1 View Post
    I pour it through a (clean) sock.
    I do not have any socks large enough to fit over my 5 gallon buckets.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    2,534

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by SallyD View Post
    Thank you groundhwg for your reply. I actually bought the double strainer honey sieve (that fits over the bucket) and the upper mesh is 1875 micron and the bottom is 650 micron - I guess i should put it through the 400 after these 2? Is anyone else using this double sieve and then filtering it again. I just don't want the honey to be cloudy. This is the item I have.

    https://www.amazon.com/VIVO-Stainles...85751621&psc=1
    I have used various filters. Double strainer is the best. Of the nylon bucket filters, I prefer 600 microns. I value pollen over clarity. Personal preference.
    David Matlock

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Derry, New Hampshire
    Posts
    2,295

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by SallyD View Post
    Thank you groundhwg for your reply. I actually bought the double strainer honey sieve (that fits over the bucket) and the upper mesh is 1875 micron and the bottom is 650 micron - I guess i should put it through the 400 after these 2? Is anyone else using this double sieve and then filtering it again. I just don't want the honey to be cloudy. This is the item I have.

    https://www.amazon.com/VIVO-Stainles...85751621&psc=1
    Sally......I actually just got that as well. Run it through the 1875 and let it sit for a few days. then take a piece of plastic wrap and lay it on top of the honey. peel it off and trash it. all the gunk will float to the top and get stripped away with the plastic wrap. you can spoon it off too. as the top gets down to the honey gate i'd try and run it through the finer one. it will take a long time and you still might have some floating gunk to remove. Once you get a lot of honey you'll never let the level below the gate so the gunk always floats.
    Last edited by kaizen; 06-11-2019 at 07:11 AM.
    Terrence

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    646

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Someone is confused. 1875 micron is much larger gaps than the 650 micron. Run it thru both, let the bucket sit, then pull off the bottom if you can. The top strainer will get the bigger stuff allowing the 650 to flow better and longer. Use the 400 if you want to; you may like the appearance. My customers seem to like it well strained so I generally get down to 200.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Derry, New Hampshire
    Posts
    2,295

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by texanbelchers View Post
    Someone is confused. 1875 micron is much larger gaps than the 650 micron. Run it thru both, let the bucket sit, then pull off the bottom if you can. The top strainer will get the bigger stuff allowing the 650 to flow better and longer. Use the 400 if you want to; you may like the appearance. My customers seem to like it well strained so I generally get down to 200.
    Thanks Tex. I had it reversed. I corrected it.
    Terrence

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Upperco, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by kaizen View Post
    Sally......I actually just got that as well. Run it through the 1875 and let it sit for a few days. then take a piece of plastic wrap and lay it on top of the honey. peel it off and trash it. all the gunk will float to the top and get stripped away with the plastic wrap. you can spoon it off too. as the top gets down to the honey gate i'd try and run it through the finer one. it will take a long time and you still might have some floating gunk to remove. Once you get a lot of honey you'll never let the level below the gate so the gunk always floats.
    I started this year stopping after the 400. Its not as clear but the idea of more local pollen seems to be the craze. I would not do less than the 400.

    The 600 gets bug bodies and debris out and the 400 takes care of anything else nasty. i like the idea of starting with that huge 1875 that'll keep all the wax bits from clogging the finer mesh. Might try that idea myself

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    478

    Default

    I use a paint strainer bag from Lowe's. Looks just like the Mann lake one above. Could even be the same thing repackaged. I have no idea the mesh but it works fine.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Algoma District Northern Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,805

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve in PA View Post
    I use a paint strainer bag from Lowe's. Looks just like the Mann lake one above. Could even be the same thing repackaged. I have no idea the mesh but it works fine.
    I think you are correct. They are available at paint stores, Amazon, and probably home brewing supplies. Mesh designations vs the metric particle size designation makes for confusion. It appears the paint filters can be coarse or fine.
    Frank

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Olathe KS USA
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by crofter View Post
    Mesh designations vs the metric particle size designation makes for confusion.
    FWIW - This chart might help with the confusion between mesh and microns.
    Screen mesh is the number of holes (or wires) per inch. Higher numbers are finer.
    Microns is a measure of particle diameter. Higher numbers are larger.

    https://www.netafimusa.com/wp-conten...-vs-Micron.pdf

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Algoma District Northern Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,805

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by sonnyk View Post
    FWIW - This chart might help with the confusion between mesh and microns.
    Screen mesh is the number of holes (or wires) per inch. Higher numbers are finer.
    Microns is a measure of particle diameter. Higher numbers are larger.

    https://www.netafimusa.com/wp-conten...-vs-Micron.pdf
    Correct! I have seen tray filter sets mislabled. They say micron but have the 600 label on the finest screen and the 200 label on the coarsest! Can we give them any marks for having the 400 label on the medium one?
    Frank

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Nacogdoches, TX, USA
    Posts
    167

    Default

    I pour everything from the extractor into this. Atwood’s here in town carries them. Appears they are 400 micron. It’ll get the visible out and leave very clear honey with pollen. Most folks want all the pollen in local honey.

    https://www.atwoods.com/miller-littl...ey-filter.html

    From there it goes straight into the bottles.

    Ryan

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cedar City, Utah
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: what size filter do you use to strain your honey?

    Quote Originally Posted by SallyD View Post
    What size screen do you recommend to filter my honey?
    I strain the honey through a strainer like this (http://www.amazon.com/Adjustable-Col.../dp/B0798TX144).

    The strainer sits atop a 5-gallon bucked with a honey gate. After straining, I let the honey sit overnight. Debris that was too small to be strained out the day before floats to the top. The honey that flows out the gate is clean. The honey at the top with tiny debris is great for cooking.
    A cold bee smoker is bad for the soul.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •