Help

Thread: Help

Default Help

Hi. My name is mike. This is my first year. I have one hive from a five frame nuc I got in April. I live in western NC. To make a long story short, I hurt my back and was down for about 3 weeks. When I walked up to it today there were thousands of bees on the front of the hive, kinda looking like a swarm. I have a pic, Iíll post it as soon as I figure it out. The bigger deal it seems, is that a friend convinced me to go foundation-less o my second brood box, and it now appears to be cross combed. I canít remove any frames without destroying others. Can anybody advise me on what to do? Thanks in advance
    Attached Images Attached Images

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Help

Hi Mike/Phatglass. Welcome to Beesource. There's a lot of great information on here.

My guess is that the bees on the front of the hive are bearding. Is it hot and humid there? Bees beard when the hive gets too warm and they have to make some room to cool it down. They can also beard when there's just too many bees. In three weeks, a lot of bees can emerge from a 5 frame nuc and suddenly it's full.

So, did you put the five frames into a deep box with 5 frames of foundation or comb? And there's a second box on top? I doubt they'd be swarming with that much room after what, a month or so? I mean it's possible if there's not enough space for brood, but that still seems unlikely to me.

As to the cross comb, I don't have any advice except to use your hive to to cut and separate. Somebody else will probably have a solution.
    Year 3
    Zone 7b 3500 ft.