Is a Queen Gate the same as a Travel Gate?

Default Is a Queen Gate the same as a Travel Gate?

And does anyone have a good source to buy them?

Mann Lake does not seem to have them, or perhaps they are under a different name. Ideally the gates that can be flipped over to double as mice gates.

Suggestions?

Thanks!
    Looking for experts to help advise our non-profit on rebuilding the bee population in PR Karma Honey Project

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Is a Queen Gate the same as a Travel Gate?

I've been keeping bees for 45 years, have read hundreds of beekeeping books, thousands of beekeeping threads on forums and have never heard of either a "queen gate" or a "travel gate" until just this minute. Do you have a reference or a link to the terminology? Is this perhaps an entrance guard? Like a piece of equipment that goes over the entrance that has a queen excluder on it? Like a "queen includer?"
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 42y 40h 39yTF

karma: I think there is a terminology gap here. Here are some possibilities:

1. Moving Screen. These are generally attachments to the primary opening that can be shut off easily to trap ALL bees inside. Many commercially available ones can also serve as "robbing screens" because they create confusion to non-resident bees trying to access the hive. A metal or plastic flap can be moved to close off all entrances, thus converting the "robbing screen" into a "moving screen."