multiple swarms

Thread: multiple swarms

Default multiple swarms

good morning (Amman time). I am a novice beekeeper and my neighbor, who is also a novice beekeeper, noticed five swarms across the street from his hive. As this is new to all of us, does each swarm contain a queen? I was able to get 3.5 of the swarms into one box. The remaining half swarm dissipated when we were cutting the branch the it all fell to the ground. The remaining cluster was too high in a tree, so we left it. I only have video of the swarms, so I cannot upload them to this forum. I have posted some of them on Facebook on the Beehadist Honey page (https://www.facebook.com/beehadisthoney/)

thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: multiple swarms

How many hives do you have between the 2 of you and in the area? If you have more than 5 hives it may be swarms from multiple hives and each one may have a mated queen. If you only have a few hives (less than 5, probably more like 10+) hives, each swarm should still have a queen, but they may not be mated. I don't think all of the hives would swarm on the same day, but a few on the same day is possible with the right conditions. It is also possible that a less than 5 hives thru multiple swarms on the same day.

Quote Originally Posted by elmer_fud View Post
    How many hives do you have between the 2 of you and in the area? If you have more than 5 hives it may be swarms from multiple hives and each one may have a mated queen. If you only have a few hives (less than 5, probably more like 10+) hives, each swarm should still have a queen, but they may not be mated. I don't think all of the hives would swarm on the same day, but a few on the same day is possible with the right conditions. It is also possible that a less than 5 hives thru multiple swarms on the same day.