New Colorado Beekeeper
    Fountain, colorado, southern Elpaso county

Default New Colorado Beekeeper

New colorado Beekeper checking in. Southern Elpaso county along Fountain Creek.
    I have been beekeeping for almost three years now. My hives are being kept in a shed, due to an incident with a bear within two weeks of setting up my first hive. I have not been treating for mites and the bees are doing well.
    All of my hives are from local swarms. My first hive came from a swarm from the Golden area.
    The second hive is from the first hive that swarmed on Sept 1st 2017 this same year. I managed to keep them alive through the winter of 2017. Both these hives are very strong.
    My third hive is from my neighbors tree which lost a limb last September 2018. They absconded and moved into my swarm trap I still had set up.
    These bees are small cell bees, which I am trying to keep alive through this winter 2018-2019.
    So far my mite counts on all my hives are very low to nonexsistant. I am curiouse if this has to do with the wild hops that grows on my property along the creek. I wonder if there has been any studies on the hops flower and the might population. I know Hopp guard is made from the hops flower, but I dont know if the bees foraging on these flowers would be the reason my bees are virtually might free. I do believe there is a direct correlation with this theory, but would like some proof, other than what I have observed.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: New Colorado Beekeeper

Welcome to The Source from your neck of the woods! Sounds like you have some genetics worth propagating from, whether or not your correlation is correct. As in an enclosed shed? I would check with the DOW to see if you qualify for their big game management program (where they supply an electric fence).
    Please excuse me, I am now free to go manage & treat ;)
    my ladies the best way I know how.