Double Deeps or Deep and Medium
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Double Deeps or Deep and Medium

Question: Which is better for the hobbyist? Double deeps or 1 Deep with mediums?

I'm a hobbyist beekeeper thats been keeping bees for 5 years. I've always run all 8 frame mediums but I recently had a large die off and I had to buy a couple nucs for this spring. I bought from a local guy that only sold deep nucs. Now that I've got a couple deeps in my yard I was considering running those hives in double deeps year around and then supering with mediums during a honey flow. Is that better or should I stick with the traditional single brood chamber?

I've always overwintered my hives in 3 mediums, one of them full of honey.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Double Deeps or Deep and Medium

Welcome to the forum beedawg. As you know, beekeeping is local so it would be helpful if you put in your location. I am assuming that you are in the south considering your present configuration, but fellow beeks can give better advice knowing a more specific location.
    Here in Vermont, a "traditional" configuration is 2 deeps and medium supers. I run 3 deeps and medium supers. So traditional for me is certainly not traditional for where you live. J

I live in Georgia, a couple an hour or so east of Atlanta.

The rule of thumb I was always told starting here is that a medium of honey is enough to get them through winter. I'm just thinking that moving forward it may be simpler to used double deeps.

What ever you decide do all mediums or all deeps. Mixing is a pain when you need to move them around moving a frame from an upper box to a lower or visa versa. I run all deeps even supers all deeps.

Quote Originally Posted by EastSideBuzz View Post
    What ever you decide do all mediums or all deeps. Mixing is a pain when you need to move them around moving a frame from an upper box to a lower or visa versa. I run all deeps even supers all deeps.