Vaporizing in February

Default Vaporizing in February

I am new to using an oxalic acid vaporizer. Just bought one and will be receiving it in a few days. Due to some medical and other problems I wasn't able to treat the hives in fall. Is it possible to do one or more treatments in February??? I think the temperature has to be at least 40 degrees. Is that right?

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Vaporizing in February

OAV does not have hard and fast temperature rules like formic acid. However, to be effective, the bees cannot be tightly clustered, so yeah, above 40F would be best. OAV can be applied anytime honey supers are not present. A treatment applied now will kill all of the so called phoretic mites in the hive. If your hive already has capped brood, you may wish to perform several treatments approx. five days apart. From now till the end of summer the bees should be able to out breed the mites so usually the next treatment will be late summer. This of course assumes the initial mite load is near zero. YMMV.
    Thankfully, the bees are smarter than I am. They are doing well, in spite of my efforts to help them.

ill do the first round of 4-5 treatments in late march when the temps start to warm up.

Quote Originally Posted by JWPalmer View Post
    OAV does not have hard and fast temperature rules like formic acid. However, to be effective, the bees cannot be tightly clustered, so yeah, above 40F would be best. OAV can be applied anytime honey supers are not present. A treatment applied now will kill all of the so called phoretic mites in the hive. If your hive already has capped brood, you may wish to perform several treatments approx. five days apart. From now till the end of summer the bees should be able to out breed the mites so usually the next treatment will be late summer. This of course assumes the initial mite load is near zero. YMMV.