Consumer drone usage.

Default Consumer drone usage.

So, is anyone using the drones yet?

Not the bugs.
    The flying machines.

Potential usages for me:
    * I could actually fly a drone from my house to one of my nearest swarm traps to check on it and not bother driving there.
    * Could stop be the road side and fly a drone check on my out yards (without slogging over collecting ticks and such).
    * Could fly a drone over the closest prairie to evaluate the flower (mostly check for blooming clovers and goldenrod).

Sounds really cool but maybe prices/features are not on my level just yet.
    Not paying 1K for a drone.

For the reference:
    https://www.pcmag.com/roundup/337251/the-best-drones

Experience/ideas/suggestions/discussion are welcome!
    I have zero experience; never had one yet.
    Former "smoker boy". Classic, square 12 frame Dadants >> Long hive/Short frame/chemical-free experimentations.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Consumer drone usage.

My brother is trying to get me to buy his old one. It would be useful to see if the tulip poplars and sourwood trees are being hit by the bees. Other than that, it is hard to justify the expense.

I bought myself one for Christmas, but due to our weather I haven’t been able to use it yet. I’d like to try to use it for the reasons you mentioned, but I actually bought the drone for other uses. Using it for bees will just be an added benefit. I would have a difficult time justifying the expense just for bees.