Adding Super

Thread: Adding Super

Default Adding Super

I am still new at this and I am trying to determine when would be the best time to add a super to a single deep brood box. I am in hardiness zone 6 b. I am thinking in Mid March or I may add as soon as I see flowers start blooming. I am also planning on putting a strip of formic pro on at the same time. What are your all's thoughts on this?
    Some days it's not worth chewing through the restraints.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Adding Super

You only add a super when the brood box is 80 - 90% full. It is not driven by the calendar. It is driven by the productivity of the bees.

Quote Originally Posted by ericweller View Post
    You only add a super when the brood box is 80 - 90% full. It is not driven by the calendar. It is driven by the productivity of the bees.
    I am sorry, I should have stated that I am assuming the brood box to be full. They have over wintered in just a single deep. They have been eating sugar patties all winter.Iwill be checking before adding a super.

I would check the outer frames and if they are filled or close to being filled, I would add the super. You don't want to give them too much empty space.

This member has not been active in a few years but had a lot of good post and fairly local to you. There could be some good nuggets there. He is also very active in the Cookeville Beekeepers Association and they have a good web page. It should fit your timeline--

https://www.beesource.com/forums/sea...rchid=12218623
    https://cookevillebeekeepers.com/
    sc-bee