Radial Extractor Stand
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Coronach, Saskatchewan
    Posts
    19

    Default Radial Extractor Stand

    I'm in the process of setting up a new honey house for the coming season, and one of the decisions I went with is to go with my Maxant 50 and 70 framers propped up on stands, with gravity feed into the wax collection unit on my Cowen so I don't need an in floor sump. I'm not wanting to bolt the radials down until I am completely happy with the layout, and am looking for ideas of what people have for stands that don't seem to move much with fairly balanced loads. Hoping to keep them less than 1ft off the floor.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    72

    Default Re: Radial Extractor Stand

    Bolt the stand to the floor and mount the extractors on top of vibration pads.
    https://www.acklandsgrainger.com/en/...Control/c/3793

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Miami, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    9,340

    Default Re: Radial Extractor Stand

    Might want to consider building the stand as a complete unit, with a platform to stand on.
    Are you good at welding?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Coronach, Saskatchewan
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Radial Extractor Stand

    Interesting idea about vibration pads pleasantvalley. I like it, but do want to make darn sure they're exactly where I want them before I drill the floor. I'm moving from a space that basically had to have them where they barely fit to actually being able to get a good flow, so it will likely need some tweaking once it's actually in use.

    Ian, I can get by with welding, but certainly am not a pro. I do have connections that are good at welding however. Were you thinking mount them all on one stand, rather than each on their own? That would provide a fair bit of counter weight to keep things from rocking... I was talking to one neighbor who has his mounted on a couple chunks of heavy I-beam that seems to work fairly well.

    It's 2 50 framers and 1 70 framer. In the old set up I had the 70 frame up 6" on not great legs bolted to the floor, and the 50's bolted right to the floor, and I actually liked it better with it up 6", as it seemed I had to bend down to load the 50's right on the floor.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Miami, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    9,340

    Default Re: Radial Extractor Stand

    Either that or a bolt to the floor.
    Actually drilling the floor isnít so bad. When you want to change the plan, a grind will smooth things down,
    Cheers!

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NE Calif.
    Posts
    2,609

    Default Re: Radial Extractor Stand

    I had my son weld me up some legs that bolted to the extractor and then to the floor on my 80 frame equinox for the same reason that I didnt want an in- floor sump.Floor drilling is easy with a hammer drill. Worked out pretty good.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Menomonee Falls, Wis.
    Posts
    4,213

    Default Re: Radial Extractor Stand

    I hope you will have an epoxy floor, which is easy to repair if you save a little when it is applied.

    Crazy Roland

  9. #8

    Default Re: Radial Extractor Stand

    I know the original post is a couple of years out-of-date, but was wondering how your stands turned out? We're in a very similar situation with a Maxant 60 frame and 70 frame that we want to put on stands.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    FRASER VALLEY, BRITISH COLUMBIA
    Posts
    2,072

    Default Re: Radial Extractor Stand

    I would consider building a concrete slab to the desired height for each extractor. At one foot of height, it won't be that much cement. Framing a form and pouring cement is relatively low skill, as opposed to welding stands.

    Jean-Marc

  11. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    6,953

    Default Re: Radial Extractor Stand

    I had my capping spinner on a concrete block. When it got overloaded and off balance, started wobbling, bouncing and moving, it was a lethal weapon. We bolted it down onto the floor onto steel channels. I still remember the sound and shaking honey room as it took off across the room yanking it's cord off the wall and crashing into the pump and filter box. Stand visible in these video:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ra0bG6Pcg1g

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBTTxsenG-0&t=4s






    Quote Originally Posted by jean-marc View Post
    I would consider building a concrete slab to the desired height for each extractor. At one foot of height, it won't be that much cement. Framing a form and pouring cement is relatively low skill, as opposed to welding stands.

    Jean-Marc
    All of my opinions and suggestions are based on my five decades of actual beekeeping,
    not so much on book learning, watching YouTube videos nor reading internet sites.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    St. Albans, Vermont
    Posts
    8,226

    Default Re: Radial Extractor Stand

    Quote Originally Posted by jean-marc View Post
    I would consider building a concrete slab to the desired height for each extractor. At one foot of height, it won't be that much cement. Framing a form and pouring cement is relatively low skill, as opposed to welding stands.

    Jean-Marc
    That's what I did. Never moves.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •