The Cause of Puerto Rican AHB's being resistent to Varroa Mites
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default The Cause of Puerto Rican AHB's being resistent to Varroa Mites

Hopefully this question isn't silly, I am new to the bee world.

I have read a lot about how Puerto Rican bees seem to be incredibly resistant to Varroa mites. Is it possible this is just due to the climate in Puerto Rico being hotter and not the genetic makeup of the bees themselves?

Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: The Cause of Puerto Rican AHB's being resistent to Varroa Mites

There has been a study done on this, unfortunately i cannot find it.

However the jist of it was this. - Once varroa arrived in Puerto Rico the bees were susceptable to them. But then at some point and nobody knows exactly when, or how they arrived, but africanised bees showed up, which were resistant to varroa.

The bee strains mingled, and at first were aggressive. Again, nobody knows just how it happened, but eventually they became a gentle strain of varroa resistant bees. They have been genetically tested and although gentle, they have africanised genes.

The study authors were not able to offer a definately proven explanation, but hypothesized that in the process of the mixing of the races, by pure chance, some bees inherited the africanised genes that give varroa resistance, but not the africanised genes for aggression. They further hypothesised that because Puerto Rico has a very dense human population, aggressive hives that caused problems were exterminated by people, but the gentle ones were left alone.

Whatever the explanation, I would love to have some of those bees!

Since you live there Karmahoneyproject, how are the Puerto Rican bees doing since the hurricane? Did a good number of decent bees survive?
    "Every viewpoint, is a view from a point." - Solomon Parker

When doing another research on pesticides in waxes I found this reference: