Total newbie asking bar (lumbar) question
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Total newbie asking bar (lumbar) question

I am going to be making two Tanzanian top bar hives following instructions in Michael Bush's book/ website. I've called around to local hardware stores and I think I have all lumbar sizing figured out, except top bars.

16- bars 19” by 11/4” by 3/8”
    18- bars 19” by 11/2” by 3/8”

The above is what I am to look for but over the phone they didn't seem to know or find the 3/8" (1/2" only) and width wise only the 1 1/2" was found.

What am I looking for? What phrasing (2x4, etc?) Or cut size? I am assuming the measurements above are "true size." Everything appears to be thicker and nothing at 1 1/4". I am assuming 1/2" would be fine.

Thanks you for the replies.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Total newbie asking bar (lumbar) question

Cut your lumber to whatever size you want.

Quote Originally Posted by Tim KS View Post
    Cut your lumber to whatever size you want.
    I don't have any equipment. I will be trying to get the boats cut at the hardware store, except for bars which I plan to hand cut. I'm not sure what "stock"pieces I should be looking for for the above.

In my opinion 3/8" is too thin. Phil Chandler specs his at 3/4". When I played with TBHs I made mine a full 1" - after all, the top bars form the top of the hive and so the thicker the better (within reason).
    LJ
    A Heretics Guide to Beekeeping http://heretics-guide.atwebpages.com/

If you want bars that are 1.5" wide, the simplest approach is to buy what are called 1x2 lumber. Those will be 1.5" wide by 0.75" thick by whatever length you buy. 8ft long is pretty standard, but other lengths may be available.
    Graham
    USDA Zone 7A Elevation 1400 ft

not sure were your geting the 3/8 thickness from... my bars are any were from 5/8" ( made out of fence pickets) to 1"+(ruff sawn lumber)