Found an abandoned hive

Default Found an abandoned hive

Hello, newbie here. I recently moved into a large property and I found a Langstroth hive (screened bottom board, 2 deep hive supers, a medium honey super, inner cover, and outer cover). It is completely abandoned and overtaken by mice. The hive has probably been abandoned for a number of years (5+). There are ten frames each in the deep hive supers, and eight frames in the medium honey super. The 20 deep hive super frames are a mix of plastic (12)and wood (8). The honey super frames are all wood (8).

I took the hive apart this past weekend and purged all the mice nesting material. Everything is structurally intact, but I'm not sure whether I can reuse the supers, or the frames. Are they so compromised by mice dropping and urine? Can or should they be cleaned? Should I just get all new frames ($$s)? Can I reuse the boxes if I were to do that?

Here are a few pics. (hive disassembled and spread out, brood super showing mice nest, honey super showing mice nesting material.) Any help/advice would bee appreciated.
    Hive all.png
    brood box.png
    honey super.png

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Found an abandoned hive

Quote Originally Posted by SNRbeekeeping View Post
    Hello, newbie here. I recently moved into a large property and I found a Langstroth hive (screened bottom board, 2 deep hive supers, a medium honey super, inner cover, and outer cover). It is completely abandoned and overtaken by mice. The hive has probably been abandoned for a number of years (5+). There are ten frames each in the deep hive supers, and eight frames in the medium honey super. The 20 deep hive super frames are a mix of plastic (12)and wood (8). The honey super frames are all wood (8).