Drawn Comb: To Reuse or not to Reuse?

Question Drawn Comb: To Reuse or not to Reuse?

Howdy. I'm new to beekeeping, and new to the forum here.

It sounds reasonable to me that if honey is extracted without destroying the comb (i.e., via an extractor instead of crush'n'strain), then the bees can reuse the drawn comb, and spend their energy making honey instead of wax. But a friend said he heard that bees need to make wax, for some reason I forget.

So my question: Is it advantageous, or not, to extract honey without destroying the comb, then place the comb back in the hive? Will the girls make more honey with reused comb than if they had to re-draw the comb?

- djb
    The best things in life aren't things.
    2 hives, started 2018

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Drawn Comb: To Reuse or not to Reuse?

Drawn comb is more valuable than gold. To a beekeeper anyway. Yes, using drawn comb allows the hive to concentrate on bringing in more nectar which equals more honey. Not sure what your friend was talking about, but they will still make wax to repair the damage from extracting and of course when capping it. Perhaps the friend was referring to swarms needing to make wax? They do, and quickly, because their lives depend on it. J

Quote Originally Posted by Fivej View Post
    Drawn comb is more valuable than gold. To a beekeeper anyway. Yes, using drawn comb allows the hive to concentrate on bringing in more nectar which equals more honey. Not sure what your friend was talking about, but they will still make wax to repair the damage from extracting and of course when capping it. Perhaps the friend was referring to swarms needing to make wax? They do, and quickly, because their lives depend on it. J
    Allrighty, that's what I wanted to know. Thanks. I harvested my first frame last weekend, used the crush and strain method, and it bothered me to destroy the comb. Seemed I was making extra work for the girls to replace the wax.