Do I really need to medicate?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Do I really need to medicate?

This is my first year bee keeping. So far I would say pretty successful. Bought two packages in late May. One hive has filled both deeps and working on two supers. Other hive has finally filled the first deep. Pretty good for a late start and no comb to start with.

I try not to bother them too much. Every time I open the hive I feel like I kill so many from the busy hive I feel bad about it. How do you set a 100 pound deep box down on a flood of bees pouring out everywhere.

My question is probably a dumb one, but is treating for diseases and pests something that must be done every year? I haven’t done anything for them but give them a good home to grow. Probably one good month left before it gets cold. I’ll take my supers off the busy hive the end of this month.

Thanks!

Default Re: Do I really need to medicate?

It is not a must that you treat for diseases and pests. However, not doing so greatly increases the likelyhood that you will be spending your money on bees instead. Strong hives crash the fastest when it comes to mites. Weak hives succumb to SHB and wax moth infestations.
    Thankfully, the bees are smarter than I am. They are doing well, in spite of my efforts to help them.

you don't necessarily need to "medicate", but you will need to do something to manage the mite population in each hive.

I was in a similar boat five years ago when I just started out.

Trust us on this - do something to monitor and treat for mites. A huge, booming, healthy hive will mite crash so fast it will make your head spin. OAV is a good option.
    Beekeeping 6 Years - 12 production hives and about 12 nucs - Treatment OAV Only

I bought some Hopguard2 strips when they were on sale earlier this year.

Any experience using these? I was planning to add them at the end of this month when I think the brood is more dormant.

Quote Originally Posted by Aaron.koe View Post