Hive Concerns

Thread: Hive Concerns

Default Hive Concerns

This is my first year and I'm trying to understand what might be going on in the photos at the link below? It think the queen may have swarmed when they were taken because I didn't see any evidence of her in the hive. I've seen her since then and she is laying. I just don't know why they chewed the caps off these cells and left the larvae. She's laying around all these uncapped cells. Shouldn't they clean them out?

https://photos.app.goo.gl/gqD8D5KGisCnQ6vb9

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Hive Concerns

It appears they are starving, possibly robbed to the point of no return. It doesn't look like enough bees to make a viable colony.

What are you doing about mites

Alex
    Ten years of Beekeeping before varroa. Started again spring of 2014.

Do you have any honey/nectar stores at all? It looks like you have another hive next to this one in the pic...how is it doing? Have you monitored/treated for varroa?
    Meghan

Wow, better start feeding immediately, it is quite late in the season to have no stores in the hive. That is the first problem and priority. I would feed sugar syrup 2:1 and pollen sub as well.

Consider reducing to a nuc.

Treat for mites, you don't have enough bees to risk testing.

Are you sure you have a queen? Most of those cells look like drones to me. And of course, there are no stores. I had a nuc looking like that about two months ago. Combined them with another queenless nuc and added a frame with eggs. They made a queen and now the hive is doing well, for a late nuc.
    Thankfully, the bees are smarter than I am. They are doing well, in spite of my efforts to help them.