Help-Bee Problem: Is it illegal to spray and kill nuisance bees in NYS?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Help-Bee Problem: Is it illegal to spray and kill nuisance bees in NYS?

Sorry posted in the wrong forum-----

I am at a loss of where to go for help!

I am a business owner and the building next to me have honey bees in a double wall of bricks. The bees are coming out of the wall 10 feet away from my entrance. 7 weeks ago a bee keeper set up a cone and a hive to trap them. Sadly, the cone keeps getting compromised the bees are coming and going. The building owners won't do any thing different. The cone is hanging over my property. The bees were not using the box (it was 2 feet away from the end of the cone and from what I could tell they were not using the cone...plus the bee keeper went on vacation after 3 weeks) and now the box is gone but the cone is still in place. We are sweeping up dead bees everyday (probably 300-500 per day).

From all I have learned, I want to tear his cone down (it is the size of a Wizards Hat) and put up a smaller one, build a box stand over my jeep that is parked there to keep my customers away and do it right. I can probably get a box form another bee keeper in town.

Is it illegal to spray and kill nuisance bees in NYS? I don't want to do it but the building owners are not doing anything that I can tell to remedy the situation. My property comes right up to their building, so I can spray the cone that is on my property. They just say they have faith in their bee keeper and walk away.

Any suggestions would be helpful. I am taking pictures for a report to the Village Board and Building Inspector and can post later if that would be useful.

Jim
    Last edited by Palmyra Jim; 09-01-2018 at 08:27 AM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Help-Bee Problem: Is it illegal to spray and kill nuisance bees in NYS?