Water source in winter
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Water source in winter

Hi all,
    It's my first year with bees, and I live in an area that gets pretty cold (zone 4). Do I need to provide an unfrozen water source all winter long? It seems to me that if the water is frozen, it would be too cold for the bees to fly to it anyway.
    Any advice would be appreciated.

Karol Wojtyla

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Water source in winter

After you winterize your Minnesota hive in October or early November, forget about it until next spring when the temperature approaches 55F. They do not need an unfrozen water source, nor would they likely survive any attempt to access it outside their clustered area. Their stored honey has sufficient water — about 18.6% or less, some of which escapes into the air (requiring proper ventilation to avoid dead bees from too much condensation). Minnesota winters (and North Dakota winters) are for dreaming about working your bees next spring; no real work, except making more boxes or frames (and maybe take another nap).

Ok, that's a relief! I'm not sure how I would have done it anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by karol wojtyla View Post
    Hi all,
    It's my first year with bees, and I live in an area that gets pretty cold (zone 4). Do I need to provide an unfrozen water source all winter long? It seems to me that if the water is frozen, it would be too cold for the bees to fly to it anyway.
    Any advice would be appreciated.

Karol Wojtyla
    If anything, there is too much water during cold climate winter.
    In the hive, that is.
    Least concern (more of the concern is how to rid of the excess water).

26.9 pounds of water are generated from our 40 pounds of honey
    Source: Bee Culture Magazine, January 1, 2015, Wait, How Much Water? by Frank Linton
    Former "smoker boy". Classic, square 12 frame Dadants >> Long hive/Short frame/chemical-free experimentations.