HELP! DROWNING IN Propolis!!

Exclamation HELP! DROWNING IN Propolis!!

OK, FINALLY, I may get honey this year! Maybe even a decent chunk (for me, a 3 hiver)!!! But, I just went out to put in my bee escape and had a ***** of a time getting the inner covers off on 2 out of 3 of my hives. I had to pry and pry and pry all around the edges. When it started to lift, I noticed the frames had been glued to the inner cover! It was lifting the frames as I took off the cover. So, I slowly, one by one with my hive tool freed the frames (just the ends were so heavily glued). I finally for the cover off and saw soooooo much Propolis!! I had never seen so much.

So, I tried to separate my two honey supers but they were heavily glued AND weighed a TON (a good thing). This time, however, as I got the top honey (medium) super broken free on the edges, I started lifting the box from one end. Guess What!? They glued the bottoms of the top medium frames to the lower honey super (medium) frame tops! So, lifting the top box ended up ripping off the bottom bar on at least 3 of my frames from the top medium. So, I assumed the frames with the bottoms ripped off are unextractable? Or, should I nail the bottom piece back on when I'm going to extract?

With this much Propolis, should I try saving it to sell? The local bee supplier says it's a waste of time because he can never find anyone who wants to buy it. Same thing goes for pollen collection. No one wants to buy it.

Any replies, answers, suggestions, ideas or whatever are highly appreciated.

Bob
    Lynn, MA

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: HELP! DROWNING IN Propolis!!

You could probably bottle it and find some hippie or health nut that would pay top dollar at a street booth in the city somewhere. Other than that, I doubt many people would buy what one person could salvage from a few hives. From what I've heard it takes a lot of it to be worthwhile.