How much honey to leave for winter if I'm trying to not feed

Default How much honey to leave for winter if I'm trying to not feed

I'm new to this and trying treatment free including no feeding sugar or syrup unless absolutely needed. I use all 8 frame mediums, have 4 hives, and I'm in the Pacific northwest. I'm trying to figure out how much honey I need to leave each hive before I get too excited and harvest it all. I do realize I have a bit before I need to know this. But I love planning ahead.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: How much honey to leave for winter if I'm trying to not feed

Beekeeping is very localized, where are you located?
    “The single biggest problem with communication is the illusion that it has taken place.” -George Bernard Shaw

I'm in southern oregon. We have a mild winter. It goes below freezing at night every once in a while. I have read about 70-80 pounds of honey, but I assume that is for 10 frame deeps. Can I leave less for 8 frame mediums--or is the remaining winter cluster about the same regardless of size of summer hive?

Size of equipment doesn't dictate how much to leave. With 8-frame mediums you'll need to leave more frames, than you would in 10-frame boxes/frames.

For example, if you do need 70-80 lbs of honey, that's 10 deep frames or 13 or 14 medium frames. Medium frames being roughly 2/3 the size of a deep. If using 8-frame medium equipment that means you'd need to leave nearly two boxes full of just honey.

Now a much smaller colony, say the size of a nuc (or even a double nuc) might need less chow simply because there are fewer mouths to feed.