Increasing broodnest in preparation for post flow split
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Increasing broodnest in preparation for post flow split

I'm toying with a post flow split. From what I've read, they either make bees or honey. I realize, you can't have your cake and eat it too. My 3 hives are currently limited to 3 medium 10 frames each with a QE and supers on top of that. If I added a 4th medium to the brood area of the strongest hive now, is it likely the queen will see that as an opportunity to lay more or that they will fill it with honey? Our flow seems to have slowed a bit in the last couple of weeks, but I anticipate it will pick up again. I'm thinking that more bees would translate into them bringing in more stores. After the flow is over, I would split them and allow the queenless split to raise a queen. I'm not good at finding queens, so this would likely be a walk away or vertical split of some sort. I suspect I'm missing something, because it seems too simple.

Default Re: Increasing broodnest in preparation for post flow split

It will translate to them eating more stores! Take the honey you can get now, cleaning out the frames will put more into circulation and act like a flow. Different hives will act very differently to a slowing flow.

I would suggest reading https://www.beesource.com/forums/show...lits-Ray-s-way.

Vertical split is a low impact split, especially with a hive that is weaker. Pick your best queen, follow Ray's and other flyback posters and have no impact at all on your two hives.
    It is not true that you cannot teach an old dog new tricks.
    They can learn them, they just can't do them.

Quote Originally Posted by Saltybee View Post
    It will translate to them eating more stores! Take the honey you can get now, cleaning out the frames will put more into circulation and act like a flow. Different hives will act very differently to a slowing flow.