Hello,
My name is Tony Andric and I am the inventor of The Everything Bee Vacuum.
I am a fellow beekeeper who loves doing cutouts. But to explain how The Everything Bee Vacuum (TEBV) came to be, I have to explain how I got here. Like many I started with a mentor and learned the basics. So I made the standard shopvac based design sucking through a box of frames. Yes, it ‘worked’, but goodness was it work! I quickly realized that the vacuum was as much work as the cutout. While the cutouts were enjoyable, my frustration grew with the vacuum.
Note that I’m an engineer. I live to solve problems, and right in front of me was a big one. When I want to start solving a problem, I first list out the issues. My old vac was big, cumbersome, had too many parts, was loud, required lots of extension cords or even a generator, released bees when disassembled, could let bees overheat or suffocate, the valve could slip & kill the bees, the hoses were too long causing clogging, it wasn’t portable… and so on.
So I sat down with a clean piece of paper and wrote what do I want in a bee vacuum. I wanted:
• Compact but upgradable design
• Cordless
• Lightweight
• Easily varied vacuum pressure
• Reliable
• Easy to clean/maintain
• Short hose
• Quieter
The list went on, but these were the key features. And after well over a year of design and redesign, I’m finally proud to put my name on this vacuum.