Honey already?
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Honey already?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Huntersville, NC, USA
    Posts
    259

    Default Honey already?

    I already have a supers worth of capped and at 50% of a second capped with the remaining pretty full of honey. The tulip polars havenít even bloomed here yet.

    1 is it normal in the piedmont area of NC for this to happen so early?
    2. What do you all do with this situation? Take the capped out and replace with empty frames or leave them on and just stack very high? If I take now, then can I freeze the frames and do the extraction all at once or should I extract as I get them? ( I had it in my mind that I would do one big extraction in June- wow things arenít going as thought with bees......weird)
    3. Are others in NC seeing the same?

    I am a second year beekeeper, and this is my first year with established hives.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Isle of Wight, VA
    Posts
    2,793

    Default Re: Honey already?

    add a super between the capped honey and the bees

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Blue Ridge, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    138

    Default Re: Honey already?

    I'm close to the same situation as original poster. What does adding one between them do instead of above? Do they just move quicker with that instead of thinking they are out of room?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    St. Stephen, N.B. Canada
    Posts
    268

    Default Re: Honey already?

    Bees don't like to cross a honey barrier. So like they said you add a new super on top of brood boxes and move the old super up for them to cap. If you have to add a third you remove the other boxes and add the third on top of the brood and so on.
    On the border near 04619
    Zone 5B @ 29m

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    St. Stephen, N.B. Canada
    Posts
    268

    Default Re: Honey already?

    Also should note that when they won't cross the honey barrier they look for other places to put honey. So they backfill the brood nest and your bees swarm because there is no room for the queen to lay. Sometimes no matter what you do they will not draw comb and the same thing happens. So it's always good to have drawn comb at your disposal.
    On the border near 04619
    Zone 5B @ 29m

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Aylett, Virginia
    Posts
    4,141

    Default Re: Honey already?

    Kcnc1, I noticed a lot of nectar going into hives here also. Pulled the feeder on the production hive and supered it Saturday with three drawn and seven foundation. Bees were already filling the drawn comb on Sunday. Fast and furious.
    Thankfully, the bees are smarter than I am. They are doing well, in spite of my efforts to help them.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Great Falls Montana
    Posts
    7,817

    Default Re: Honey already?

    My experience is you get more honey extracting and putting those sticky frames back on.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Guilford County, NC, USA
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Honey already?

    Hey KCNC,

    I'm just up the road in Greensboro, I have been noticing pretty significant traffic around here on the warmer days. Everything in my area is blooming pretty heavily now.

    - Carson

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Huntersville, NC, USA
    Posts
    259

    Default Re: Honey already?

    Arson, do you have a lot of capped honey already? A super or more per hive?

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Guilford County, NC, USA
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Honey already?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kcnc1 View Post
    Carson, do you have a lot of capped honey already? A super or more per hive?
    I don't have that much, I only have two hives. One of which is a newly captured swarm. The other is a 1 medium 1 short box with no queen excluder and in need of an additional box. That being said I have some capped honey but not a super's worth. But that could be solely because they are running out of space in the established hive.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •