Best deep frame feeder out there ??

Question Best deep frame feeder out there ??

Thoughts input appreciated ?

regards
    Brad
    Dad always said " Smart like tractor, strong like bull "

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Best deep frame feeder out there ??

I like Mann Lake’s, which come in various capacity, and which have circular plastic ladders coming down from the access holes to decrease bee drowning. I have no experience with other vendors’ comparable products.

Mann Lake's redesigned frame feeder is the best feeder I've ever used. No dead bees. Easy to open and clean out when done.
    Jerry

All the above is true. I don’t think I would want to try any other tank feeders other than Mann Lakes, unless they were for free.
    Rod

Thanks, I am getting tired of building wood ones.

regards
    Brad
    Dad always said " Smart like tractor, strong like bull "

Dadants 1 gallon work great and are much cheaper. We don't use anything in ours and our bees don't drown as long as we don't pour with bees in the feeder
    Splitting a first year hive successfully https://youtu.be/ZfRTreQ-S9c

I just use any brand black frame feeders that hold about 3/4 gallon of syrup. Mine have the square ladders on one side and I hot glued some screen over the other side. I use a funnel to fill the feeder through that side, so no damage to the bees. I also zip tied the lid to the body because I had one top split from the body due to the weight of the syrup when I first started using them with a package I lost a lot of bees when that happened. These feeders work fine when I find a need to feed and I don't worry about drowning bees anymore.

The Mann Lake redesigned frame feeders have wooden tops, need no alterations to use, the tops don't break apart after a few uses like the all plastic ones. Worth the money.

Swarmhunter - thanks for the tip. Mann Lake feeders look like what I would like to use in the future for frame feeders.