Pierco plastic frames

Default Pierco plastic frames

I am shopping around for a hundred deep frames at a minimum. I have no experience with the plastic frames beyond one that came in a nuc when I first bought my bees, and it has been in the same box since.
    Really looking at buying by the end of this week and noticed that I can get the all plastic double waxed frames from Pierco for a little less letting my $$ run farther.

Now my questions
    Are they worth the cash?
    Do they get brittle with age?
    Are they the same depth as a wooden frame? I notice they are listed as 9Ē not 9 1/8Ē.
    Iím guessing getting them drawn would be similar to getting any other plastic foundations drawn.

I know itís not a big purchase for a commercial outfit but Iím still getting up to speed and donít want something that is junk to be in my hair for years to come. Already been down that road with duragilt foundation and need to rotate a lot of it out.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Pierco plastic frames

I have liked them so far, as they are cheaper and easier. They just need a healthy coating of beeswax. Whether you pay for double or triple waxed, or "paint" it on using an old crockpot or countless other methods. Pierco and Acorn are worlds better than mann lakes standard plastic frames.

However, most commercial people I have seen hate them, and since I have entered the realm of machine uncapping, my opinion may begin to change.
    Hindsight is 20/10, not 20/20...
    After the fact, I always know what didn't work.