Major losses in Michigan

Default Major losses in Michigan

Temps were around 60 yesterday. Checked my hives and found I only had 1 out of 12 that was still alive. All 12 fall nucs I made were toast too.
    Hopefully I won't run out of honey for the next year and a half as this year will be a rebuilding year.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Major losses in Michigan

wow. sorry to hear about that spencer.

Quote Originally Posted by spencer View Post
    I've been keeping bees now since 2005 and have never treated. For the first few years I was on the package bee route. I'd buy the bees, they'd last through the 1st winter but almost always died the 2nd winter. I went to a beekeepers meeting in the spring of 09' and Mel Disselkoen was speaking on his methods of never having to buy bees again. I don't do exactly what he does but I do make nucs and splits out of my hives every year. I believe the brood break is what helps a hive with the mites. I lose anywhere from 1/3 to 1/2 of my bees every year. I keep anywhere from 13 to 20 hives so the ones that survive I can split and get my numbers back up to where they were.
    This will be the first year I am trying to overwinter 13 double nucs. We'll see how that goes.
    are you still working with the bees from those original packages vs. bringing in any 'resistant' stock?
    journaling the growth of a (mite) treatment free apiary started in 2010. 20+/- hives

Losing that many colonies must be extremely discouraging!

Was Mel's system of OTS and splitting the only thing you did last summer to control mites? I have read his book and not been entirely convinced of the math of it working well enough as the only varroa control measure. (Not to mention that, for me, with little to no need to make increase, I'm not sure what I'd do with all the extra colonies it generated.)

I hope you have much better luck this season!

Nancy

Quote Originally Posted by enjambres View Post