Photos of my dead hive

Default Photos of my dead hive

I am trying to get to the bottom of what happened to my hive over the winter. They were thriving what seemed like a few days before I noticed they were dead. I figured they starved due to my own stupidity of not knowing that I could have fed them in the bitter cold. So I decided to disassemble and take some photos today.

There were definitely a few beetles present. Although it didn't seem like an infestation. Also. You can see in the photos that the bees filled one box. But only built two small combs in the bottom. But that didn't happen until very late in the summer. So I feel short there as well by not encouraging them to move down. I presume if I had, maybe this would have kept the growing beetle problem at bay? I am no expert. I am also interesting in understanding why the comb looks the way it does in certain spots.

I would appreciate it if someone would take a look at give me insight to help me improve this year's trial. I would also like to know if I should reuse this comb. And if so, what should I do to prepare for the coming package?

Almost forgot. While I was taking these photos, a big honey bee showed up and crawled around on a comb then left.

I am on a slow connection. So here is a link to all photos on a single page.

https://imgur.com/a/C91SZ

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Photos of my dead hive

Appears to be a combination of starvation and mites.......... both of which you can control. Yes, you can and should reuse the comb.
    http://OxaVap.com Your source for the ProVap 110
    OA Vaporizer. The fastest vaporizer on the market!

Agreed. No honey, but no sign of robbing either, so starvation.
    "Every viewpoint, is a view from a point." - Solomon Parker