Lost my bees to the cold

Default Lost my bees to the cold

We reached a temp of 65 today here NW Missouri so I went out to check on my bee's, they were all dead. Plenty of food for them. My question is, Do I need to clean off the frames of all the comb and honey, I suspect some may have eggs in them since they are capped. Already cleaned out all of the dead bee's, and brought in the frames from the super to collect the honey from them. I am new to this and this was my first winter. I have 2 Brood boxes and 1 medium super, the lower Brood box was completely built out, the 2nd about 80% and the super about 50%.
    The winter so far has been very cold with several weeks not getting above freezing many nights below zero and some pretty bad wind chills the worst was -25*

Kevin

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Lost my bees to the cold

kwp
    I am too new to advise you on your question but welcome to the forum. I am sure someone smart will answer soon.
    Cheers
    gww
    zone 5b

welcome aboard kevin!

was this your first year with bees and did you have just the one hive?

Probably didn't lose them to the cold, or else all the bees up here in northern NY, or in MN, where it is much, much colder, would be dead as well. I've already had air temps - not wind chills - lower than minus 25 F this winter.

The most likely cause was mites that damaged your wintering bees way back in Sept./ Oct. What did you do for treating and monitoring for re-infestation throughout the fall?

Nancy

Have you guys got any answers to his other questions on how to handle the comb?
    Cheers
    gww
    zone 5b

try to salvage the comb, it comes in very handy for the next colony. most likely what you are seeing as 'capped' isn't brood but rather honey.