Swarm Trap Design , Placement , Baiting , everything discussed
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Swarm Trap Design , Placement , Baiting , everything discussed

I was getting questions and PM's on another group about Swarm Trapping so I made a video. I'm not a pro youtuber, i'm not a monetized channel, i'm just a guy in a shop, so be nice.
    I made this in one take, no editing so it's a little long...but i've covered all the basic points about building, baiting, setting them, scouts vs swarm , tools... and also I cite sources for further info .
    There are obviously many ways to do it. What I cover has been very succesful for me.

If it helps give a "Like" on Youtube. Thanks, Enjoy, and excuse my bad camera skills haha

https://youtu.be/nrMWKADe-lg

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Swarm Trap Design , Placement , Baiting , everything discussed

Thank you for the video. A couple of questions...
    1. How important is the dead space at the bottom?
    2. Have you used old comb? Is new foundation better?
    3. How often does the lemongrass oil need reapplied?
    4. Why have the entrance on the side instead of the front?

Quote Originally Posted by Jadeguppy View Post
    The dead space seems to be attractive to the scouts. I've heard others that have trapping success mention also it.
    It makes sense as it gives an appearance of room to expand.
    I've had very good success with this kind of trap so I conclude that it is important.

Tom Seeley tested side by side traps from 10L to 100L and found that a trap with a 40 Liter volume to be the most successful.
    The traps I make are 34L , they are a compromise that I feel is easy to carry around, hang, and take swarms out of.
    Take your design, multiply it's LxHxW and you get cubic inches , convert that on google to Liters and see where you're at.