buying nucs or established colonies?
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default buying nucs or established colonies?

I am new to beekeeping I have been reading up some I have not purchased anything yet. I found a couple of people that sell bees around me one guy is selling nucs for $150 or there is another guy that is selling complete established colonies double brood boxes for $250 the established colonies are hybrid Italian bees and I don't know what type the nucs are which would be better for a beginner I am planning on buying in the spring. If I get the nuc I am going to order a brood and super combo which is 135 on Mann lake right now.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: buying nucs or established colonies?

Depends on your budget and woodworking skills/tools.

Both of those are In my budget but at the top for a hive and bees because I still have to buy accessories. The hive from Mann lake is completely assembled and painted and free shipping. My woodworking skills are average with a decent amount of tools.

Find out more about the bees and how they treat. Go take a look. If you can find TF/resistant bees you might be better off in the long run, even if need to treat.

I'm thinking if the established colony is a complete hive, with all frames drawn with comb, than the cost is worth it, not having to buy the hardware, plus you are not out the time it takes the bees to draw comb in the brood boxes. Seems like you would stack your supers on, and let them rip...Be sure to keep them closed up for at least 72 hours after relocation.

If both places have healthy bees and things look well taken care of which would be better I think the guy selling the nucs is just starting selling bees and the guy selling the complete hive appears to know what he is doing and has been doing it awhile but that was just talking on the phone.

"Be sure to keep them closed up for at least 72 hours after relocation. "

??????? WHAT ????