Need advice on brood pattern
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Need advice on brood pattern

This is my first year beekeeping. Below are two pictures from my inspection today. The brood pattern looks spotty to me. But I know we are in a dearth, so that may be the cause? I would appreciate any insight from more experienced beekeepers. Is this normal or a problem queen?

I just recently started feeding them 1:1 again ( for about a week so far)

I did see the queen. And there is capped and larva. ( I couldn't see any eggs but I can't on visual inspection anyway and my pics either don't show any or I got the wrong angle to see - I usually take an hdr pic and expand it once I'm done to find eggs. ) IMG_1175.jpgIMG_1186.jpg

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Need advice on brood pattern

[QUOTE=Kcnc1;1573932]This is my first year beekeeping. Below are two pictures from my inspection today. The brood pattern looks spotty to me. But I know we are in a dearth, so that may be the cause? I would appreciate any insight from more experienced beekeepers. Is this normal or a problem queen?

The brood pattern itself may not be so bad; however I do believe that there are some virus infected larvae there. I would treat for mites and put on some glasses and look more closely for eggs. A failing queen is often a result of viruses in the brood.

I hope that you have another hive from which you might obtain brood with eggs or for a 'unite' of the 2 hives after treating.

Looks spotty to me too. Is the hive strong / week, have you treated for mites lately ?

Probably help to know about your hive, history, how started, how it grew, how big is it now, what did your brood pattern look like on previous inspections etc...