Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Propolis questions

5K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  rwurster 
#1 ·
I'm new here and new to bee keeping. While I've learned much so far, I'm still learning.
Until I entered in to this facinating world of the honey bee, I had never even heard of propolis. Let alone that it had medicinal purposes and that there was a market for it.
Now that I'm older and hopefully a little wiser, I find myself trying to take better care of myself physically and mentally. Recently I was able to loose weight, about 40 lbs actually. I've also tried to be more active. I am happy to say that my efforts have been rewarded. After nearly 10 years, my doctor has taken me off of my cholesterol and blood pressure medications. I'm very proud of myself for accomplishing that!
So now in a effort to take better care of myself, I am looking to the wonderful honey bee and all that she offers to help me.
So I am asking for help from everyone here on this forum to add any uses and their recipes for propolis that you personally use or have used. Thank you in advance for any help you can offer!!

#4 ·
It might help to start with a clinical overview:

http://www.webmd.com/vitamins-supplements/ingredientmono-390-propolis.aspx?activeingredientid=390&