The old man messed up his hive spilt. I need help!!

Default The old man messed up his hive spilt. I need help!!

A little background...So my old man used to tend to his fathers bees years ago and is a bit stubborn. This is my first year bee keeping but I have edu8cated myself a lot via youtube.

So he bought a 2 deep 10 frame hive last week. The first day of bees on the property he added a third box with 10 deep frames. We live at the end of a col de sac with a large green belt to the left side of our property near the bees. We have dozens of acres of clover fields and blackberry bushes near our house. He was told by an old friend that the bees would swarm because they've been in the two deep boxes for awhile. So he went out and bought a queen bee to introduce to this hive that already has a queen a few days after palcing the bees in our yard.

So couple days go by and he goes ahead with his plan against me pleading with him and telling him hes doing it wrong. He found the queen on a frame placed that frame in a new box with 4 additional frames from the old hive. He replaces those frames with new frames and waits a couple hours to requeen his original box. He places queen (in cage) in the old hive and leaves it alone for two days....

The next day the new hive with the old queen looks as if they are about to swarm.. The entrance of the hive is full of a circle of bees, the queen is not in this circle but they are not flying to get honey they are just inj a circle flapping their qwings for hours. When the old man gets home from church he sprays water on them and they shoo back into the hive.

Two days go by and he opens the old hive with the new queen in the cage... Only to find that the netting has been chewed through and after inspection there is no queen to be found..

What I think happened and if anyone here can help me out if im reading this correctly.