When to add another box?

Default When to add another box?

I have 2 ware hives. This is my first year. The bees are building comb and there are new eggs. They seem happy to me. I started one hive with foundation and one that has wire to keep the comb straight. The frames are langstroth design. I want to know when I should add another box? How will I know? Also should I add the new box to the bottom as per Warre method or should I add a new box to the top? How should I proceed? I am very happy with my progress so far.
    Thank you.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: When to add another box?

opto
    I am new so take this with a grain of salt. If you have lang type frames you can run it like a lang. My guess is when 80% of the first one is drawn out and if you put it on top or bottom, move one of the finnished frames up or down for a guide and a ladder. Then do it again when it is 80% drawn.

I have just top bars and no windows and just added two boxes to start. My reasoning was that it was already warm enough that the extra space would not hurt as much as at other times of the year and Though the swarm I put in it was pretty small, heat goes up. They say matching the space to the bees is best for getting them to go at max speed. Time will tell if I am dumb or smart but I bet it works out. You are working with about the size of a five frame nuc and so when the brood starts hatching, they could get crowded pretty fast and you may have to be a little more agressive then waiting till the 80% drawn comb but that is probly close.
    Good luck
    gww
    zone 5b

Makes sense. This is a great learning experience. Thank you.

This is my second year with Warres. You can leave all your boxes for the season on as long as they started in the top box. Heat loss is not an issue because the heat is concentrated on the upper box where the first brood nest is.