Using old frames

Default Using old frames

I use plastic frames and was planning on powered washing some of the old ones with really dark wax from the brood chambers. But every now and then I hear people saying they are using 50 yr old frames. Is removing the frames with pretty dark wax and removing the comb necessary?
    Last edited by dputt88; 04-26-2017 at 09:41 AM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Using old frames

Why do you want to get rid of drawn comb? All brood comb turns dark. It's normal.

I've heard people mention that when it starts getting close to black it's no good anymore. I've been beekeeping for 5 years so only now am I considering this.

Old brood coomb are prone to have spores os nosema and AFB . Changing old coomb is a sanitary measure to reduce de prevalence of those spores.

Is this still required if I have never had afb in my hives?

Itīs advisable.

Even you donīt have clinic manifestations of disease, spores are usualy present in old coomb. Change three frames a year, so in three or four year all nest frames are changed.

Same general idea but wax can absorb and retain some of the "cides" (insecticides, herbicides, pesticides, etc) the bees encounter and bring back to the hive. I try to rotate out the older comb every 5 years or so to reduce any potential hazards/stress that might be generated by the retained chemicals.
    “The single biggest problem with communication is the illusion that it has taken place.” -George Bernard Shaw

Are we talking about just frames or comb? I was under the impression that new comb is advisable every few years. I didn't think the frames had to be rotated out.

Sorry, just rotating out the comb and reusing the frames. I'm foundationless so cutting the comb out for melting is a tad bit easier than scraping it off the foundation. There is a market for the melted comb too, but slightly different prices between the older wax (darker) and cappings.