First swarm capture question....... - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 29 of 29
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ft. Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    650

    Default Re: First swarm capture question.......

    With those other two strong hives pretty close I'd be moving that entrance feeder to above the cluster... to knock down any idea of robbing..Good luck

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Vineland, nj
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: First swarm capture question.......

    I thought about that. I have a top feeder that I will switch too. I just wanted to put something in there for the time being. Do you think it's okay to keep the new swarm so close to the other hives?

  4. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Vineland, nj
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: First swarm capture question.......

    Just out of curiosity, what are the chances that my original hive will produce any honey this year after the swarm?

  5. #24
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Campbell County, Va
    Posts
    507

    Default Re: First swarm capture question.......

    Quote Originally Posted by Quad1993 View Post
    Just out of curiosity, what are the chances that my original hive will produce any honey this year after the swarm?
    Depends if the swarm was a primary swarm or if the original hive had already cast a primary swarm and these were after swarms. You'll probably still get some honey. I would not put the queen in a queen clip as suggested, she'll be fine. Also, you are ok to put the swarm hive near the original hive, but if you can move it for 3 weeks a couple of miles away, then bring it back, you'll have fewer bees drift back to the original hive that they already know as home.

  6. #25
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Campbell County, Va
    Posts
    507

    Default Re: First swarm capture question.......

    Quote Originally Posted by Quad1993 View Post
    haha thanks. I wish my first one was one of those swarms that land in a tiny tree about 4 feet off the ground that people just easily drop into a box without any problems. haha nooooooo, not this guy.
    I chuckled when I read this...I got a call a week ago to get a swarm about 6 ft up in a tree about 4 feet from a sidewalk in front of a house that was about 1.5 miles from my house. Next day, same lady calls, says.another slightly smaller swarm is in the tree beside the first swarm tree, between the sidewalk and street about 4 feet up. I thought it was all my foragers from the 1st swarm maybe had headed back. Captured the 2nd swarm, had a virgin queen in it, added them to another empty box. Driving away from the capture, my wife looks over and spots a house about a block over with 3 top bar hives in the back yard.
    Easiest two swarms, I've captured. The 1st swarmed had a big mated queen I marked. The 2nd had a virgin queen that was actually out on a mating flight again today after 4 days of rain.

  7. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Vineland, nj
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: First swarm capture question.......

    Lmao. Must be nice!

    On another note, just check on the bees and this is what they look like!
    IMG_1784.jpgIMG_1784.jpg

    Am I in for trouble?

  8. #27
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Campbell County, Va
    Posts
    507

    Default Re: First swarm capture question.......

    Quote Originally Posted by Quad1993 View Post
    Lmao. Must be nice!
    On another note, just check on the bees and this is what they look like!
    IMG_1784.jpgIMG_1784.jpg

    Am I in for trouble?
    Looks good to me!

  9. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO United States
    Posts
    1,441

    Default Re: First swarm capture question.......

    "Am I in for trouble?" Only one way to find out, and that is to see what is going in on the inside, & see who is swarming and/or preparing to. I personally would consider opening up some of their entrances.
    Please excuse me, I am now free to go manage & treat ;)
    my ladies the best way I know how.

  10. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Vineland, nj
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: First swarm capture question.......

    The hive in the front is the swarm I captured and the hive in the back left is where it came from. The hive in the back right is still fully intact. Is it normal for all the activity from a hive that just swarmed?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •