OTS - Treatment Free
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question OTS - Treatment Free

I've been studying Mels OTS System for a couple of years searching for the silver bullet for TF. I went to Treating 2 years ago because I was losing the majority of my hives every year, but I actually would love to keep everything TF. I did some notching last year and it worked great. Those hives were treated last year in Aug and are alive this Spring. I've spent a lot of time studying Mels theories on requeening in May and July and why this leads the mites to self distruct. I also realize he's selling bees not honey.
    My question is DOES IT ACTUALLY WORK?
    I also realize the labor intensity of the system.
    Would love to hear from people actually using the system.
    Jerry

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: OTS - Treatment Free

IMO this will help but you also need to have resistant stock. The degree of the resistance and your genetic footprint will determine success.

Basically it boils down to a brood break at a critical time for the mites.

Continually raising new open mated queens enables you quickly gain local genes in your area, if these genes are survivors they will integrate into your apiary.

I dont know about "self destruct" or "silver bullet". Brood breaks present opportunity to curb mite growth. But brood breaks come at the expense of bee population growth too.

And any positive gain depends on type of requeening. If you just replace queen with new laying queen, I dont see how that can help. And there are number of ways to requeen, OTS being one of them.

I personally think this is just ONE tool in the toolbox.

Then there are

* Genetics
    * Nutrition
    * Virus types prevalent locally
    * Environmental Stress factors (pesticides etc)