Long Langstroth hive design questions
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Long Langstroth hive design questions

Hi all!

I am a sophomore beekeeper and 4H bee keeping project leader. I have a 4h family who is new to bee keeping and has lifting considerations, so we have to decided to build a long Langstroth hive using deep frames. I will also be building myself one. We are in the mountains of rural NE California, at about 3500' elevation.

I have several design questions :

1) screened bottom or no?

2) Entrance location, top or bottom? Round holes or rectangular slot?

3) overall length? Number of frames?

4) space between bottom of frames and bottom of box (or screen)?

5) Treatment considerations?

Thanks,
    Michael

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Long Langstroth hive design questions

All are my opinions and others may think different.

1. screened bottom is no benefit if you are treating anyway.

2. Entrance works best if it is at the bottom of the hive on one end.

3. The minimum number of frames is 24 and the maximum is about 32. This suggests interior length of 33.75 inches up to 44.75 inches. Be sure to leave some room to get frames in and out.

4. Bees need about 5/8 of an inch between the bottom of the frames and the bottom of the box. They use this space as a walkway and ventilation duct.

5. I don't treat so can't comment about treatment options.
    NW Alabama, 50 years, 20 colonies and growing, sideliner, treatment free since 2005, 14 frame square Dadant broodnest

I plan to build this one this year:

http://horizontalhive.com/how-to-bui...th-plans.shtml
    -- Joe
    "Make your own decision and embrace the consequences." -- jwcarlson

Quote Originally Posted by Fusion_power View Post
    All are my opinions and others may think different.

1. screened bottom is no benefit if you are treating anyway.

2. Entrance works best if it is at the bottom of the hive on one end.