Swarm traps and rain
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Swarm traps and rain

Placed swarm traps at the beginning of February, but so much rain, I am not so sure about catching any swarm at the present time and location...

One swarm trap I left out all winter was filled with 4 inches of water. Took it down, drained it, dried it out, and ready to reset soon.

I did bait and place two other traps...but like I said, super wet, lots of rain storms, and it doesn't look very good for catching swarms at this point in time...

Anyone have any suggestions for us?

Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Swarm traps and rain

I'd start with drain holes. Are things blooming there? It seems like you'd get a lot of things blooming with the rain, the bees would build up, and swarms would start. I've caught some swarms, but I'm not an expert.

I don't have suggestions but also leave mine out all year and most were pretty dry but several had mouse nest in and this time of year the mice are having babies. The mice can be hard on the traps and they chew a big hole at the thin part where the frame rest are. I dump them out and bait them and keep my fingers crossed. So far I have only found one with wasp in them.
    Good luck
    gww
    zone 5b

Our local bee year is not the same like every year. This year is unusually wet with lots of rains. So the
    swarm season got pushed back to at least in mid-April. When it rains at blooming time like now, it is time
    to start feeding your bees. Chances are to collect some early honey is close to nil. If things will be blooming around
    April then you will have a good chance of catching a swarm and collect some honey too. Right now is too early with the rains and all. Good to build up the bee population for some later foraging if things are blooming your way.
    About the swarm trap, drill some small holes at the bottom channeling the water out of the rear where the wood strip meet