Figuring out wholesale pricing

Default Figuring out wholesale pricing

Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to the honey business in terms of moving wholesale weight, but I can't seem to get a handle on how much to charge for the honey I'm selling. I'm selling Guajillo honey, pretty unique and high quality compared to the honey in the area (SouthEast Texas), but still largely unknown. Internet searches are giving my results that are all over the place. I'm getting clientele, but I don't really know how to price them. I'm currently referencing honey.com's wholesale pricing, but that seems to be scaring wholesale clientele away.

http://www.honey.com/honey-industry/...nth-wholesale/

We're selling retail by web, 12$/lb. and 30$/3lbs and those are moving just fine, but I'd like to get into wholesale markets. All help is appreciated!

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Figuring out wholesale pricing

Never tried that honey but if its dark then 1.80/lb in drums and 3 bucks in buckets.

Esargent, I wholesale to 3 highend bakeries (and a local micro brewery pub). (cases of labeled jars, creamed and some cut comb). They retail it for $8 for 500 gr (~a pound). They want to make about 40% markup or profit margin. For these kinds of retailers it is about markup as they do not expect to do a volume business. It is an impulse buy. The consumer did not go to their store to buy honey. They are looking for a sweet treat or quality bread. The retailer wants to get as much of the customers sweet treat budget as possible and they want to maximize the profit margin. Why let a 20% markup product replace their normal high markup bakery items.