Foraging, but where is it going?

Default Foraging, but where is it going?

Fall flow is on. The bees are working it all around. This is my first year weighing hives. I saw weights dropping 1-3 lb per week (no robbing). These hives are only about half the target weight. I decided to give them a gallon of 2:1 each, expecting to see the increase of about 10 lb give or take. During this week we also had rain that boosted the goldenrod bloom, so I expected to see even a bit more. Instead I saw an increase of only 2-3 lb. My guess is the population is eating faster than the foragers are replacing it. I'd guess this should mean the brood quantity will decrease, older bees will die off and the overall population will drop. I'd think this would also reduce forage input from less field force... It's a this situation typical? Normally I don't know weights so I can't compare to previous years. As pollination balances out should they catch back up out am I stuck feeding to weight?

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Foraging, but where is it going?

Hope someone answers you. One thought could be that as they evaporate the nectar, the water weight will disappear. Or they could be using a lot of it for their winter brood. Other than that, I've thought the same thing - there are bees all OVER the goldenrod, asters, etc. in my yard (and there's a good bit of it), so where is all that going? I haven't looked thru my production hives tho, only my nucs. The production hives are so busy I don't want to disturb them just yet, except to peek in under the lid and I see plenty of undrawn foundationless frames, which isn't a surprise, except that during fall flow like this prolific one, you'd think they'd be making an exception and building out everything. But the nucs I would think to be booming with everything that's growing around them, and they're just piddling. These nucs were started in late May and raised their own queens.