Small wild Hive getting smaller
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Small wild Hive getting smaller

So the first week of August I discovered a small beehive on our property while mowing. We went out and got some equipment and ordered some. We checked on them today and they seem to be half as big as it was. We plan on capturing them this monday. So 1 - why the size reduction? And 2 - help!!! This is my first attempt at beekeeping, it's a really small hive, and I'm willing to do whatever to get them through the winter.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Small wild Hive getting smaller

Greetings Farmer Brown, welcome to Beesource
    Tell us a little more about these bees. Currently living in a tree? Wall? hanging on a limb?
    What equipment do you have? Do you know anyone that keeps bees? photos?
    Started summer of 2013, just another new guy, tinkering with bees.

They are on a small tree about 8in off the ground. I thought it was a swarm bearding at first because it's a horrible spot but two weeks later they are still there.

As far as equipment, I have a 10 frame medium, screen bottom board, give stand, top feeder, and cover. Plus smoker, brush veil, etc.

I don't know anyone who keeps bees so I don't really know who to ask. I talked to the Amish man who made my hive and he just kinda laughed and said good luck.

interesting, and i commend you for trying to help this colony. it may take some luck but it's possible you can do something with them.

if they have been there for a couple of weeks, chances are they have started drawing some comb, can you see any comb?

I have seen a little as the bees have moved around. From what I've read, I need to cut out any existing comb and tie it to one of the foundationless frames.

correct. that's a good sign seeing that comb. it means they might have a laying queen. one concern with that colony is that it may be a late season swarm that left when an old failing queen got booted out.